top of page
  • Writer's pictureYoonhye (Chloe) Kim

I Have No Words! (Untranslated word)

Updated: May 13, 2019

FERNWEH

(n) A longing for far-off places.


This term intrigues me because I have a longing for home in Korea. I always wait for a break since I go to Korea during every break. I miss my family and friends a lot. I think of precious, pleasant memories I hae Korea and yearn for them. I might incorporate the word into my everyday vocabulary by saying "I have a sense of Fernweh" instead of "I really want to go to Korea as soon as possible" or "I have __days left before the break", etc. Moreover, since "longing for far-off places" is a common feeling that people have, I might explain the meaning of the word to them and attempt to make the word known to the public.


A picture taken, before the flight to Hawaii, at the airport in Korea.

GEBORGENHEIT

(n) the perfect mixture of cosy, safe, warm and comfortable.





8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page