top of page
  • Writer's pictureYoonhye (Chloe) Kim

The Weekend Olfactory Diary

Updated: May 15, 2019

1. Log at least 10 scents from your weekend. Write what you smell (how can you identify it? what are the characteristics?)

-Detergents: comforting, fragrant

-Lemon: freshness with a hint of sweetness and sharpness, light, acidic

-Cinnamon roll: sugary, sweet, buttery, cinnamon

-Flower: tempting, natural, pure, aromatic

--Freshly-baked bread: sour, mild

-Blue cheese: decaying, socks smell, musty

-Hot coffee: freshly brewed, rich, strong, bold coffee base

-Candles: ocean smell, fresh

-Korean Soup: spicy, garlic

-Barbecue: woody, wild

-Blueberry muffin: freshly baked, buttery, sugary, juicy blueberry



2. Log WHERE and WHEN you captured the scent.

-I captured the detergent scent when my mom was doing laundry at home.

-I captured the lemon scent when my mom squeezed it to use for dinner.

-I captured the scent of cinnamon roll when I walked through the Cinnabon store in Ala Moana mall.

-I captured flower scent when I was walking on the street on Saturday.

-I captured scent of freshly-baked bread when I went to a bread shop to buy ciabatta and rye bread.

-I captured blue cheese scent near the cheese section at Whole Foods.

-I captured coffee scent at my house in the morning.

-I captured candles scent in my English classroom when Mrs. Burvall lit a candle.

-I captured the scent of Korean soup at home when my mom cooked.

-I captured barbecue scent at swimming pool since the barbecue area is very close to swimming pool in my apartment.

-I captured the scent of blueberry muffin at school when my friend brought it for her lunch.



3. Identify if you have any memories about these smells (do they trigger specific memories?) OR the mood that they inspire.

I have a joyful memory about the scent of cinnamon roll because I can think of the happiest time when my mom and I ate cinnamon rolls and savored the taste of them together. We both love cinnamon rolls!

Sunscreen scent also brings me a delightful memory since it reminds me of my childhood. My family traveled a lot, and I often went to swimming pool and beaches with my brother and cousins. Before going outside, my mom always made me put sunscreen on my face and body in order to not get sunburned. Hence, when I smell the sunscreen scent, I always flash back to my childhood having fun in the beach with my family without any concern or stress.




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page