top of page
  • Writer's pictureYoonhye (Chloe) Kim

The Proust Questionnaire

Updated: Mar 6, 2019

The Proust Questionnaire has its origins in a parlor game popularized (though not devised) by Marcel Proust, the French essayist and novelist, who believed that, in answering these questions, an individual reveals his or her true nature. Here is the basic Proust Questionnaire.


__1.__What is your idea of perfect happiness?

Travelling


__2.__What is your greatest fear?

Losing family or friends


__3.__What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?

Procrastination, anxiety


__4.__What is the trait you most deplore in others?

Arrogance, hypocrisy


__5.__Which living person do you most admire?

My brother


__6.__What is your greatest extravagance?

Wasting time


__7.__What is your current state of mind?

Optimistic, delighted


__8.__What do you consider the most overrated virtue?

Piety


__9.__On what occasion do you lie?

To avoid something


__10.__What do you most dislike about your appearance?

Mole on face


__11.__Which living person do you most despise?

A person who looks down on others


__12.__What is the quality you most like in a man?

Sensitivity


__13.__What is the quality you most like in a woman?

Empathy


__14.__Which words or phrases do you most overuse?

“Like”, “but then”


__15.__What or who is the greatest love of your life?

Travelling and spending time with my family and friends


__16.__When and where were you happiest?

In Japan, during winter, in the outdoor onsen (hotsprings)


__17.__Which talent would you most like to have?

Having a skill to play a musical instrument


__18.__If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

Not worrying or being anxious about something before it actually happens.


__19.__What do you consider your greatest achievement?

I don't know yet.


__20.__If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be?

A human being


__21.__Where would you most like to live?

I would like to live in Europe.


__22.__What is your most treasured possession?

Photo album


__23.__What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?

The loss of person who I really love and care about


__24.__What is your favorite occupation?

Hotel manager


__25.__What is your most marked characteristic?

Energetic, generous, and open-minded


__26.__What do you most value in your friends?

Honest, Respect, Trustworthy, good listener, support


__27.__Who are your favorite writers?

John Green


__28.__Who is your hero of fiction?

Spiderman


__29.__Which historical figure do you most identify with?

Marie Antoinette


__30.__Who are your heroes in real life?

My mother


__31.__What are your favorite names?

Justina, Clara, Ann


__32.__What is it that you most dislike?

I dislike when people break time.


__33.__What is your greatest regret?

I don't know yet.


__34.__How would you like to die?

I would like to die while I am sleeping without any physical or mental pain.


__35.__What is your motto?

“Don’t look back. Always look forward.”

"This too shall pass."


 

The questions I struggled with the most were...

"If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be?"

"What is your most treasured possession?"

"Which historical figure do you most identify with?"


The answers I will probably change in 5 years are…(because)...

"Which words or phrases do you most overuse?"

"Which historical figure do you most identify with?"

"Who are your favorite writers?"

As I grow up, I would experience a lot more various things, and I feel that my mind would change.


The answers that surprised me the most were….

"Who are your heroes in real life?"

"When and where were you happiest?"


The questions I had an instinctual reaction to and could easily answer were...

"Who are your heroes in real life?"

"How would you like to die?"


Expand on one...

Question: "When and where were you happiest?"

Explanation: Before I moved to Hawaii, I used to visit Japan during winter every year with my family. Relaxing in the outdoor onsen (hot pool) was incredibly addictive. Because of the cold weather, my face was freezing, but I felt so comfortable and delighted. I would like to go to the onsen again this winter!



10 views0 comments
bottom of page